Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tracks on an ATV??

Tracks on an ATV??

Anyone use tracks on their ATV for snow and if so how do you like it? I’m trying to decide whether I should spend money on snowmobile or buy tracks for my quad. Not looking to do anything extreme, just something to use for lynx, coyote hunting or ice fishing and not have to be so limited by my snow shoes. I have a Polaris 500 HD. Thanks

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Tracks on an ATV??

Hi everyone happy new year its my first time posting on hunting on hbc. I was wondering the same thing about tracks. Was talking to one guy who used tracks on his razor and he said going through fresh snow wasn't easy as tracks would dig in instead of floating on top. But he also said his experience was very limited. Would be good to hear from someone who spent more time with tracks. Thanks

My cousin bought a Grizzly 700 with the tracks and it's awesome. We took it out on logging roads in a couple feet of rotten spring snow and it had no problems at all. Even climbed out some gnarly hills with ease. Me on the other hand on the canam with tires had to keep it pinned on the roads and had no chance on the hills

I've run them now for about 3 winters on my 2008 Honda Rubicon 500. My tracks are not aggressive at all, but they do surprise at where they can take me. Deep fresh powder snow is nice and light to move through, but there are limits, check out my picture at the bottom of this post. Heavier wet snow has better flotation, but is stickier and offers more resistance so the engine has to work harder. Snow that is about a foot deep or more is the nicest to go through and feels comfortable and smooth. You will be able to do what you want, but a small sled like a Tundra II will go further and faster.

Cons:
    - they are NOT fast, unless using on hard pack. Most tracks give about a 30% reduction in speed
    - you will be running around in low range 95% of the time
    - tracks add a bit of weight to the machine