Thread: Stuffers Spice mixes

Stuffers Spice mixes

Hello and Merry Christmas,

I am a total newbie when it comes to sausage making, and I am going to learn how to make fresh and smoked sausages over the holiday season. I have never used Stuffers mixes either. One of the many question that I have is when using the Moose salami mix or the Pepperoni mix what kind of smoking time have you tried and did you finish them with an water immersion cooking to bring them up to the right internal temperature. Also do you find using pork fat preferable to using Pork butt when trying to get the right fat mixture. Like I said I am going to learn how to do it then spend the rest of my life trying to perfect it. Any insight or tried wisdom would be of great help.

Cheers!!!

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Stuffers Spice mixes

Trial and error. Stuffers has decent mixes/cures. I would recommend a decent digital thermometer so you can have peace of mind that the links have reached critical temperature and are safe to eat.

For smoking, i find less fat is better if you like dry pepperoni. I haven't done the water/ice immersion yet, but will next batch, as I think it will tighten up the casings. I like to cold smoke for 45min then apply heat for 2+ hours

Trial and error has the potential to lead to some pretty unique flavors. I think that using the 1 hour of smoke to each inch of casing maybe the place to start. Thanks for the input.

I always finish in a hot water bath to make temp as using the smoker at hi temp can melt the fat. I also always ice bath unless you want a shrivelled wiener.