Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time to "reboot" Hunting

Time to "reboot" Hunting

I'm an Ontario resident, but I follow this forum closely because it's probably the best Canadian hunting forum on the Internet and hunting BC has been a lifelong dream so I figure "vicarious hunting" is better than nothing!

We had our own "bear moment" with the politically motivated closure of the spring black bear hunt in the late 1990's. After a huge spike in problem bears and loss of rural tourism dollars the government finally re-instated the hunt recently. It should be noted it was a Conservative government that banned the hunt and a Liberal government that has (so far) re-instated it. There is no political party who can be relied on to protect the interest of hunters.

Hunters need to do three things:

1) Acknowledge Canada (and Canadian politics) has changed. Hunters need to acknowledge Canada has changed - there's no point fondly reminiscing about the "good old days" - whatever those may have been. Canada is now an urbanized multi-cultural country. This isn't opinion, it's fact. Hunters not the majority anymore - not even close. Sitting back and being complacent about hunting opportunities assuming that these opportunities will always be there is 100% the wrong approach today. Hunters need to hold politicians accountable (letters, phone calls, etc.), actively contradict misinformation in the media/social media, and actively project a hunting presence in the community.