Thread: Salmon - "Single Hook"

Salmon - "Single Hook"

Hi guys, I have a dumb question. I'm reading the BC regs for where I will be fishing, and it says "Barbless hook and line" www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/rec/tidal-maree/a-s28-eng.html

Just so I'm clear, does this mean you can only use ONE single hook on the line at all times? Or can you use multiple single hooks on a line, as long as they are single hooks (as opposed to triple)? I've seen a few mooching setups where the guys use a cut plug with two hooks (one up front, one further back) but I don't know if that is legal for BC fishing.

I'm fairly new to this, so want to make sure I know exactly what the rules are before heading out. Figured I'd ask the experienced guys here.

EDIT: will be fishing from a Kayak around Bowen Island area, using a mooching setup.
    Last edited by hansol; 08-09-2017 at 10:12 AM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Salmon - "Single Hook"

If you're fishing in area 28 you can use tandem hooks as many do when fishing bait, treble up front and a tandem single in the rear.

About the 6th point down.

http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/r...nlawfulactions

And more here.

http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/r...-eng.html#gear

Smarter guys than me on here but I'm pretty sure the salmon regs are federal, not provincial. I seem to recall having the same dilemma as you a few years ago and it turns out I was reading the wrong set of regs.
    Is Justin Competent, or just incompetent?

Quote Originally Posted by albravo2 View Post
    Smarter guys than me on here but I'm pretty sure the salmon regs are federal, not provincial. I seem to recall having the same dilemma as you a few years ago and it turns out I was reading the wrong set of regs.
    Could be.....I just assumed that if he was looking at area 28 that he was fishing tidal waters and as I only fish from a boat I made a quick assumption that could definitely be misleading.