Thread: Lower Arrow Lakes Long Weekend - little advice?

Lower Arrow Lakes Long Weekend - little advice?

Morning! So packing the family to Arrow Lakes (South of Nakusp - East side of the lake). So we're more mountain people - not lake people and I'm new to fishing and trying to figure shit out. Slowly. Wondering what fish are best to target and what set-ups are best. Here's what I have to work with:

• We've got a great boat 20' sea ray (lots of room) so me and the girls (10/12) can cruise where we need to...
    • There's no down rigger set up and I'm unlikely to spend the $ on it. Unless someone here makes a really really really good argument for it.
    • There's no fish finder. See above. Doubt I'm dropping $
    • I've got rod holders, a good little kicker for trolling and a week to catch fish, burn gas pulling the tube and drink beer.

So any advice of what/how to get set up? Should I target kokanees or dolly varden - or both? Most important for me is to do my best to get some fish on for the girls. They've pulled in a few little trout here at home - but what a blast if we could get our daily of kokanees.

I'm more fired up about fly fishing and there are a few lakes/river/creek mouths that I'll target when I can skip out on Dad duties. So any fly fishing advice would be appreciated too.

Cheers - Thanks in advance! Can't say enough about this on-line community - my go-to when I have questions about hunting and fishing!

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Lower Arrow Lakes Long Weekend - little advice?

I fish that part of the Arrows quite a bit ,but more in the late fall and winter. I would be targeting rainbows and Kokanee right now. Use 2 inch apex black/ purple, silver ,black/silver or a five a diamond spoon. 1 to 4 ounces of weight. You could also use a willow leaf with them as well. Tip with a worm wouldn't be a bad idea either. Troll around 2 to 2.5 mph .