Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turkey Hunting! dose anyone have any tips, tricks or areas for a newbie to focus?

Turkey Hunting! dose anyone have any tips, tricks or areas for a newbie to focus?

hello everyone!
    Im looking for any ideas on where to begin on a spring turkey hunt! i'm new to it but i have been spending a lot of time putting in research about turkeys lately and want to know if anyone is willing to share input with me! i am planning on spending a week or more in camp hunting, i live in region 8 but i am willing to travel to region 4 as well, any tips or tricks to get me started would be super helpful.

thanks everyone and have a great 2017 season!!!!

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Turkey Hunting! dose anyone have any tips, tricks or areas for a newbie to focus?

Tons of turkeys in 8, no reason to go to 4

Re: Turkey Hunting! dose anyone have any tips, tricks or areas for a newbie to focus?

Tons of turkeys in 4, no reason to go to 8

Quote Originally Posted by tuner View Post
    Tons of turkeys in 4, no reason to go to 8
    LOL true but lives in 8

Unless Jelvis takes up Jell-Zeroing Turkey honey holes, it is very unlikely that anyone is going to come through and post up a hotspot for Turkey in BC... Not that such a thing even exists!
    Turkey can fly a long ways and move around a lot. After the winter flocks disperse, they can be hard to find. In my experience with BC Turkey there are vast swaths of terrain that appear to be great Turkey habitat yet no sign of Turkeys/actual Turkeys about at all. Then there'll be a small area that is just ripe with tons of Turkey activity! An area that had plenty one day will have none the next and vice versa. So, not even the Great Jelviki hissef can lay down that knowledge unilaterally!