Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to deer hunting

New to deer hunting

Hello, everyone.

As is stated in the threat title, I am new to deer hunting. I moved to the province some years ago. Right now, I've been going through the motions to acquire a BC Hunting license, and hope to be out there by this Autumn.

I'd like to step up my game from the mere rabbits I used to hunt. My experience is with using javelins and a bow. Before I get any comments criticizing my choice of tools, keep in mind that I had a lot of practice before even coming close to being confident enough to make a kill. It's been several years, but I'm knocking rust off. That said, I'd like to upgrade to using an atlatl. They're designed to have more penetration power with their large darts than an average bow.

I'd use a rifle or bow, and maybe I will change my mind, but I like to be adventurous in life (although I've shot aplenty with both). As far as I've been able to find out, there is nothing stopping me, legally, from using my choice of tools.

Anyways, I figured this forum would be a good place to learn about how to hunt Deer effectively. I see the government sites only have so much to say. I'll check out other threads, but I was wondering if some of you guys have some tips. I only have experience in stalking game. I understand deer behaviour for the most part. I'm used to some real cro-magnon stuff, so I'm not concerned about overly special tools. I'm also aware that one must be supervised, with a first-time license.

Do with that what you may. Or maybe I'm not being specific enough...

Cheers!
    Last edited by Javert; 03-03-2017 at 12:17 PM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: New to deer hunting

What species of deer are you after? Each species behaves somewhat differently from the other.

Likely both whitetail and mule. Mostly mule.

"I'm also aware that one must be supervised, with a first-time license."

I think you've mixed up a basic licence vs initiation licence.