Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to hunting

New to hunting

Hello everyone I just wanted to see if anyone can help me out on hunting I'm new to the province and also a new hunter. Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any one that helps me

2. Site Sponsor

Re: New to hunting

Hi Ben.

You're going to need to let people know where you live, what you're looking to hunt and what you're looking for. Most people will probably advise you to join a local rod and gun club and to just get out in the bush and start taking a look around. Pretty much everything you need to get started is available on youtube. Check this thread out: http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showth...the-off-season . Good luck and welcome.

.....i would tell a joke pretty quick or these guys will light your ass up....welcome the province and site.

Welcome Ben!

Do you have your CORE and PAL (if your going to hunt with a firearm)? If so, where do you want to hunt? This place is a wealth of information, so do some reading and learn as much as you can during the off season.

Where do you live at. And what do you want to hunt and yep best start with a joke. Welcome to the best past time in the world though.

Surprised no one has said it yet, but depending how new you are to the province you may be ineligible to hunt as a BC Resident for some time yet. I believe you have to have your primary residence in the province for 12 months before considered a BC resident as far as wildlife act goes.

B.C. Resident Hunting

Hunting provides British Columbians an opportunity to get out into British Columbia’s world-renowned backcountry and enjoy the natural wonders of our province.
    Resident hunters should be familiar with B.C. hunting laws and regulations.

B.C. resident hunters will need a Fish & Wildlife ID (FWID) to apply for Limited Entry Hunting or to buy a hunting licence.