Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My 2016 Blacktail!

My 2016 Blacktail!

Happy new year everyone!

I forgot to post this until now. The last months of 2016 were a bit crazy so I guess it just didn't cross my mind. Maybe it's better this way. Now that hunting season is over for most of us, I know a lot of you welcome a good hunting story! It's a bit of a long one but here it goes!

In mid November I got my biggest blacktail to date! My goal was to get a mature blacktail in the timber this year. Thanks in a large part to knowledge I've gained from Steve Isdahl (proguide66 on the forum here) and his Blacktail Hunter app, I was eventually successful! I got this guy in the snow, in the big timber, up the mountain just like Steve loves! As a young and self taught hunter, the app has been extremely helpful to me.

I scouted all summer and hiked many kilometers during the pre season. I still have a lot to learn about these deer and my area but I pretty quickly knew there were some big deer running around the spot I had been scouting. A few large tracks had given away their presence. After our big trade show in early november I was able to take off a couple of days and get into the woods.

When I woke up in the truck early on the morning of november 15, I was a bit worried I may not see any deer up and about because it had been a very bright full moon the night before, and cloud cover was light when I went to sleep. As I got out of the truck I realized it was snowing lightly which raised my spirits.

I was in the trees before first light. Once I could see a bit, I did a short can-call sequence. I sat for another 15 minutes. Suddenly I saw movement across the hill about 25 yards away. A spike buck! I had told myself I would pass if I saw a smaller deer. So I let this little buck walk.