Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: putting down a horse

putting down a horse

Having a tough time doing it myself after 15 years, had to do a few of my dogs but for some reason this is a bit tougher. Any suggestions a vet isn't a option where I'm at.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: putting down a horse

There is no easy way to do the deed, maybe a neighbor?

I feel for you dude!
    --------------------------------------------
    "If some animals are good at hunting and others are suitable for hunting, then the Gods must clearly smile on hunting." Aristotle
    --------------------------------------------
    United Bowhunters of BC (Lifer)
    Backcountry Horsemen of BC.

Im not an expert by any means and i feel for you. Do you have access to injectable pain killer for horses? Maybe a massive overdose. Better than getting a neighbir to shoot him/her. I dont know anything about the legality of this im just throwing it out there off the top of my head

the way had it explained to me is you needed a back hoe. Because the animal must be buried legal depth. Like i am saying 6 feet deep or by today's metric standards 2 metre`s and that is almost an impossible dig by hand