Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How big is this bear?

How big is this bear? - Update post #27 - 2019!

I was out exploring new ground yesterday morning, and on a mostly frozen ground FSR I found these tracks. Is there any way to judge based on comparison to a foot (size 11.5) how big this beast would be? I must have missed it by 30 minutes or less.. If this is it's home range what are the odds that it'll be back again through that area?

Thanks,

Gary.

Last edited by wifigary; 05-05-2019 at 02:48 PM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: How big is this bear?

It ain't no cub, that's certain. What region?
    Pretend hunter.

Region 8-23. There seemed to be something stomping around in the trees on the walk out, but I couldn't seem to call it out of the bush and honestly not being able to see this thing made me a little nervous! Haven't encountered a bear on foot yet, this is my first year hunting and I had my kid with me so we moved a little quicker as we were equipped mostly for deer.

The size and location screams grizzly to me, but the lack of claw marks on the front track tells that it is a Blackie. I'd be spending some more time around there if you are looking to cut a black bear tag.
    Pretend hunter.

It's been said a few times here that the width of the paw plus an inch gives you the footage of a bear.
    The measure of a man is not how much power he has, it's how he wields it.

All helpful info, thanks guys. I do have a black bear tag and I think I'll go really early tomorrow ( we were there at 6:30am last time ) and walk in from a little farther away to not spook it, find a good vantage point and wait. Anyone who's done this before and lives around that area want to come along? I'll drive, provide the coffee, and I'm willing to drive around for at least half the day looking for deer afterwards.

http://westernwildlife.org/grizzly-b...dentification/