Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: edge clarity in binos

edge clarity in binos

After buying a Razor spotting scope this year i realized how much of an improvement i need to make in my binos. I've been using Vortex Diamondbacks since 2009. They've served me well, but want something better for next year.

Leica Trinovid hd, Zeiss Conquest HD, Vortex Viper/Razor are some of the ones on the short list so i went to check them out at Wholesale.

I was surprised to see that the edge sharpness of all of them was really not as good as i had expected from binos that are $1000+. I put them up and read letters on the label of a propane bottle. But when i moved the binos up to read the label using the edge of the glass i couldn't make out the letters on any of the binos. The razor did seem a little better than the rest.

One of the biggest improvements i noticed in my new Razor HD spotting scope was the clarity of image at the edges ... so i had hoped to see the same in these binoculars as well.

Am I being unreasonable?

2. Site Sponsor

Re: edge clarity in binos

That is where Swaro EL HD Swarovision (10 x 42 in my case) are tops as they are clear right to the edge with their field flattner lenses. My 13 yr old ELs are not as good near the edge......more like what you are experiencing in tyhe binos you mention. They are also expensive.....by a factor of 2X over your stated binos.

X2 on the Swarovski. But mine are 10x32 el swarovisions. So glad I bought these brand new for $1,300

I'm happy with my Zeiss Conquests...

I'm also happy with my Conquests, slightly better I think than the Vortex though they were a little more money new, I bought mine on Clist for a grand.
    Well worth the money in my opinion.
    'The bible says the end is coming soon, I hope I get my cabin built by then'
    Richard ‘Dick’ Proenekke