Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training collars?

Hybrid View

Training collars?

Hey guys,

I have a young GSP who is getting a bit carried away, not terribly but I feel she needs reining in a bit and beyond the positive reinforcement.
    She is now picking up scents, moving birds and chasing squirrels, chipmunks and the rest…….you know, being a hunting dog!

So, I have zero experience with training collars and back in the UK they were not really on my radar (not even sure they were available/legal?) but I have friends and acquaintances who swear by them and advocate their use.

Thoughts?

Suggestions/brands/specifics I should look at/avoid?

Not wanting to shell out too much so would be interested in a secondhand one if anyone can help a brother out?

Thanks in advance

Marc

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Training collars?

personally, stuff you described is nothing i would poke a dog for...

get some books and see how you use a collar.

Collars are for folks who know how to use them. They are not for training a dog what to do, they are used for reinforcing what a dog already knows.

I personally don't use them. Try and spend more time with your dog in the yard doing the basics. Voice a command once only and make it stick. Go back to square one and rebuild if you have to. It take a lot of repetition to get a dog to handle properly and the training never ends.

How old is your pup ? do you have good training books or dvds ?

Whonnock for 19 years, Mission for 46 years

Quote Originally Posted by Dog_River View Post
    Collars are for folks who know how to use them. They are not for training a dog what to do, they are used for reinforcing what a dog already knows.

I personally don't use them. Try and spend more time with your dog in the yard doing the basics. Voice a command once only and make it stick. Go back to square one and rebuild if you have to. It take a lot of repetition to get a dog to handle properly and the training never ends.