Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bar fishing the Frazer

Hybrid View

Bar fishing the Frazer

I'm new to the coast and I wanted to get into fishing sturgeon down here, I was just wondering if anyone would be willing to point me in the right direction of fishing them off shore.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Bar fishing the Frazer

An old buddy from work used to back his truck up under the Mission bridge near the waters edge cast his gear out there and lay on his truck hood and dozz off till he got bites.Hauled a few in there as well..that was back in the day when they were legal to keep.

Those sturgeon fillets were tasty!

takla

where abouts are you parked on the coast there are lots of places to fish for sturgeon around here .
    narrow it down a bit
    a bad day hunting is awwwwwwww who cares as long as your hunting.

I'm in burnaby

My buddy catches a couple every year from shore while bar fishing for salmon. If you hook a big one be prepared to run around a lot.

Ive caught numerous off Grassy bar east of Mission.Last yr I caught while bottom bounceing for sockeye ,a 7 foot sturgeon!..Had to jump in the boat and follow it down river over a mile till I got it to the boat..was hopeing for a red spring but no go...got a quarter sized blister on my thumb from trying to slow the level wind reel when it hit!

takla

Quote Originally Posted by takla1 View Post
    Ive caught numerous off Grassy bar east of Mission.Last yr I caught while bottom bounceing for sockeye ,a 7 foot sturgeon!..Had to jump in the boat and follow it down river over a mile till I got it to the boat..was hopeing for a red spring but no go...got a quarter sized blister on my thumb from trying to slow the level wind reel when it hit!

takla
    Sockeyes were closed all of last year, interesting admission.