Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TV trapping prices

TV trapping prices

I don't trap, but watch shows about trapping etc.
    Yukon men, Yukon trappers, mountain men..
    what is the actual price of a fur? one show say "this coyote pelt is worth $400" another show says a marten is $40, and another says the marten is worth $200.
    sitting on my couch with the fireplace on... I think " I wanna go do that! $400 per coyote??"

This cannot be the price. I heard through the grapevine that a coyote is worth $40 at best?

why do they contradict each other? whats the actual price of fur??
    Get it on the ground, that's when the work starts

2. Site Sponsor

Re: TV trapping prices

I think the prices may fluctuate on a yearly basis, one year the prices skyrocket, while other years not so good but then I'm no expert by any means so......

I would imagine that the condition of the fur and how the trapper has taken care of it would reflect the price as well ??
    Last edited by Sleep Robber; 11-21-2015 at 10:10 PM.
    Leave the gun, grab the cannoli's.

The prices stated in these TV shows are generally the top price paid for a very few pelts of the highest quality. The averages for any species is usually much lower. For example in the Mar/Apr 2015 NAFA sale the top price paid for a few marten pelts was $315 with the average being $96.50. And yes pelt handling and preparation has a lot to do with the price one receives for their pelts.

Those trapping shows are bs. When I watched one last night I noticed all the animals werent frozen when they pull them out of the traps. Hahahaha. Something doesn't seem right. Doesn't your pee freeze before it hits the ground up there? I don't have a lot of experience trapping but I do have my trapping licence I thought the show was full of shit