PDA

View Full Version : Scouting and firearm question

andre66
01-25-2007, 01:45 PM
Hi folks,
i am definitely not a youth but i am a newbie to the world of hunting, no hunting licence yet and i just bought my first rifle. I wanted to ask about scouting an area in the summer and carrying firearms.

Do people bring their rifle along when they are scouting and it is not hunting season? I plan on going out this summer to scout out areas and am unsure about this.

I also want to say this is my favorite site, lots of great info and not a lot of nonsense.
Thanks
Andre
PS- the rifle i just bought is a Marlin 336

Gateholio
01-25-2007, 01:57 PM
It's perfectly legal to do so, as long as you don't shoot anythign wihtout a HL.:lol:

Actually, it's not abad idea to take your rifle, to get you used to packing one around..

todbartell
01-25-2007, 01:58 PM
Id pack it, but dont wear camo or have a deer call hanging around your neck :lol: Buy a hunting license in April anyways, and if stopped, tell them you're scouting and wanting to shoot the odd crow

welcome to HBC and hunting for that matter

BearSniper
01-25-2007, 02:00 PM
Hi Andre66,

My recommendation is spend the $32 bucks on a Hunting licence.

My take on the regs is that if you are a licenced firearm owner, and you are walking around in the bush with a rifle, if stopped by a Conservation Officer, he will correctly assume you are "hunting". Hunting means walking in the bush looking for game. You might have a hard time proving to him you are not hunting. The law is skewed in that it places the burden of proof on the person.

Even though you are just scouting, there are some species you can take in the summer. What if you saw a Coyote and wanted to try a shot ? If you don't have the hunting licence, you just have to watch him. The best part is you don't need to buy a tag for coyotes, skunk, raccoon, rabbits etc.