PDA

View Full Version : Coyote pelts worth anything?

StoneHorse
10-16-2004, 05:51 PM
I am new to varmint/predator hunting. I would like to try my luck at coyote hunting and I am wondering if coyote pelts are worth anything. If they are, who buys them? Also, I would appreciate any tips on hunting coyote. I will be using a bolt action 243 Win and I am located in the Fraser Valley. Thanks.

bone-collector
10-16-2004, 06:05 PM
call your local taxidermists , there the best bet, sometimes you get 30 bucks a pelt in the winter when there prime, if you can find a trapper to deal with you may get a bit mose, depending on demand for the fur , I think it was last winter they hit $55 a peice for a trapper , so was worth dealing with them , hope that helps you a bit

StoneHorse
10-16-2004, 06:09 PM
Every tip helps, thanks bone-collector.

bone-collector
10-16-2004, 06:11 PM
oh and wolves are worth good cash to the right taxidermist and you get to save a moose or deer by shooting them :wink:

TomTalker
10-16-2004, 07:26 PM
Well Stonehorse pelts are comiming up in price just a bit BUT that .243 is gonna shake some of the hair of them. If your hunting hides try to make shots under the chin as the coyote faces you. That's of course not always an option. Side shots with that caliber sometimes take the whole rib cage out on the oposite side. You can stitch them up but it drops the value just a bit/tt

bone-collector
10-16-2004, 07:36 PM
good advice Tom , I wasnt thinking on that , then I reload barnes X in almost everything we shoot (Barnes dosnt make X buckshot yet :lol: ) but yes Tom is right a big hole ruins cash , ear shots are nice as well if you can get 1 , but try a barnes X or a failsafe if you reload, they dont explode on inpact and carry a fine pinhole right through from my past experiences , again good luck