PDA

View Full Version : gear recommendations?

Red
01-23-2007, 02:20 PM
I'm just getting into hunting, so I don't have everything that I need yet. Aside from a rifle what would you recommend as "essential" hunting gear? ie. binoculars, skinning knife, bone saw etc. etc. etc.
I will be doing mostly deer hunts, maybe a moose/elk hunt as well.

Any advice is appreciated!

Red

The Hermit
01-23-2007, 02:41 PM
Minimum kit... compass, map of area you are in, binos, two good knives, whistle, extra shells, fire starter and matches, emergency first aid kit, a couple energy bars, drinking water, camo (unless you are only road hunting), and a ten foot length of nylon cord to use draging your deer out. I have all that in a pack that I take even if only going for a ten minute walk off the road.

Nice to have in addition to above... gps, range finder, spotting scope, ATV. :-)

rugeer
01-23-2007, 02:41 PM
Buy the best pair of bino's that you can't afford, and learn how to sharpen a knife

NEEHAMA
01-23-2007, 02:45 PM
i gutted a deer in the headlights with a broken beer bottle.

you don't need much my friend.

Leaseman
01-23-2007, 02:59 PM
^^...definately sounds like a story to be told.....

Chuck
01-23-2007, 05:04 PM
[QUOTE=NEEHAMA]i gutted a deer in the headlights with a broken beer bottle.

Young and foolish or something awful hungry?

hoochie
01-24-2007, 02:34 AM
i gutted a deer in the headlights with a broken beer bottle.

ahh ha!.. so it was you that thrashed my Christmas display!

Mr. Dean
01-24-2007, 10:42 AM
Don't forget the the a$$ wipe!

Seriously, I have found that a shovel of any kind, jack-all, and a small axe to be some of the handiest tools to have around.

Most importantly though; maps and compass with the knowledge of knowing how to use them.

johnes50
01-24-2007, 11:43 AM
Whereabouts do you live?

I wouldn't go by yourself for a while until you are comfortable with being in the bush and are aware of the dangers you may encounter.