PDA

View Full Version : Tree Stands: What are your preferences?

Ilikebigbucks&Icannotlie
12-25-2006, 10:44 PM
I'm thinking about getting a tree stand for next fall. I've never tried one before, and have absolutely no idea about what works best. Also any tactics that people might use while employing tree stands would also be helpful. Thanks in advance.

stixnstones
12-25-2006, 11:49 PM
API makes very good treestands for i have two of them. They do the trick for me.No problems.

Hagen
12-26-2006, 12:00 AM
Never really used one, I know last year walmart was blowing em out for cheap 50$ for a 15 foot ladder stand, comparable one going for 150ish at crappy tire and plain jane ones for 20 or 25 bucks........worth keeping an eye out to see if they do it again this year

Shop Lord
12-26-2006, 02:12 AM
Self climber, self climber, self climber.

swamper
12-26-2006, 09:00 AM
I never use one, have this fear of falling asleep and finding myself hanging in midair by the safety strap. Not a good thing for an old fat guy.

jakerazer
12-26-2006, 12:49 PM
The Summit Goliath self climber is great! It's easy to climb the tree's, It climbs very quietly, The seat is ultra comfy and the stand is reasonably light being made out of aluminum.
I think Summit and API stands are the best. Make sure you choose the approprate stand for your hunting style. Archery stands are different to gun/crossbow stands.
Stay away from the cheap Gorilla stands. The seats are really uncomfortable. It is almost impossible to spend most of the day in one.

Rainwater
12-26-2006, 07:35 PM
I have had several and the Crowsnest is the cats meow, it has a metal poke you insert in the tree and then you can hang it in many different trees. It's quiet, super light and comfy. Windfeather Archery in Cranbrook can get them for you. Around $130-140. Extra tree pokes are $15.

Sideofabarn
12-26-2006, 07:47 PM