PDA

View Full Version : hunting with a bow

COHO
11-23-2006, 10:23 PM
How long did you shoot at a target befor shooting a rear deer or moose or?

QnsCowboy
11-23-2006, 10:39 PM
Seemed like forever... I started shooting a bow in November 1999 at an old target my brother (Nails) lent me, went on a late bow season hunt to Texada Island the following January, and threw one arrow at one deer...Had buck fever like I hadn't experienced in 15 years, and of course missed by a mile....But the following season, got my first Deer and have never looked back...I love it......:)

Craig

5/10/85
11-23-2006, 11:12 PM
Got my bow in 1998. Got my CORE in 2002, shot at my first deer in 2003, killed two deer in 2005, a bear and a deer this year (all under 35 yds). But depends on how often you practice.

Kirby
11-24-2006, 01:13 AM
I started shooting when I was 5 or 6, I shot my first animal when I was 12 With my bow. My first deer with a bow was at 16.

Kirby

huntwriter
11-24-2006, 06:04 AM
I purchased my first bow when I arrived in Illinois, America in January of 1993 after watching a bowhunting video. Due to a hectic travel schedule I only was able to practice one to two days per week. Later that year I was able to shoot the bow every day for two month and got very confident. I spent another month practicing shooting from different hunting positions such as from a treestand, from behind a tree, sitting, kneeling and so on. When the hunting season opened on October 1st of 1993 I felt very confident to take the bow on a hunting trip and shot my first whitetail buck on public land two days later. Have been hooked on bowhunting ever since.:smile:

troutseeker
11-28-2006, 11:26 AM