PDA

View Full Version : Archery Targets

Browningmirage
11-16-2006, 12:13 AM
Hi all

I recently got a bow given to me by a friend. Its a browning mirage, and it shoots pretty nice. I have a coupla questions, im sure some have been answered before, 1st is how good a quality is the bow, how good of accuracy can i expect out of it 2nd, how much will a stabilizer help with accuracy, 3 what is a good cheap target (i am a university student) that i can make myself, shoot a bow set at 50 pounds, and not lose any arrows because of shoot through. I can adjust mine up to 65 pounds, but i am shooting low for the first bit to get a feel for it. Also, it is adjusted as far to one side as it can go, but it is still slightly off. what kind of material is good to use for a shim? I have it set up pretty nice right now, carbon arrows(at 110 per dozen, with target points the same weight as my broadheads), i just dont have a stabilizer for it, but i have everything else. Thanks

Jagermeister
11-16-2006, 01:24 AM
In answer to these questions, I think that the best advice that can be given here is for you to find an archery club or a archery shop near you and take it to them to get the bow set up. At a club, the price of setup most likely will be free, one archer helping another, a shop on the other hand likely will have a nominal fee but some will do it gratis just for the goodwill and the hope that they score a sale down the road. If you're going to TRU, I could assist you in setting it up. It would be prudent however to have someone check the limbs for stress cracking. the Browning Mirage is a good bow, regardless of what anybody has to say. I'll let others tell you how to make inexpensive targets.

bochunk2000
11-16-2006, 07:16 AM