PDA

View Full Version : Whisker Biscuit woes

Stone Sheep Steve
06-28-2006, 09:33 AM
Howdy- I'm new to the archery game and just picked up an old bow and had a shop set me up with new accesseries. It shot great through paper right off the bat.

Problem-I've shot maybe 10 rounds of arrows and I've peeled off one fletching off most of the arrows. They're plastic(vinyl?) vanes. Do most of you have to switch over to feathers with the biscuit?? Or is there possibly another issue here. The Easton Carbonaeroes were fletched by the shop. Type of adhesive??
Thanks
SSS

Bow Walker
06-28-2006, 04:15 PM
Rather than switch to feathers which are considerably slower, I'd look at switching to a Drop Away rest.

Something like the Safari Twister from APA. No fletching contact, total containment of the arrow (important when hunting), and no contact with the arrow after you release it.

JMHO.

JohnS
06-28-2006, 05:28 PM
If You get a drop away rest it will save your Vanes, leave the feather's to the birds they suck..... use a trophy taker drop away and you will never have a problem again and easy to tune also......

bsa30-06
06-28-2006, 06:21 PM
I use a whisker biscuit rest and have shot hundreds of arrows thru it and have never had a vane come off.All my vanes have a small dab of glue at the end of the vane you might want to try that , before switching rests.

sealevel
06-28-2006, 07:47 PM
i have never had any luck with arrows fletched buy a shop. The only way to get good arrows is to make them yourself . i like the trophy taker to !but if you can make that WB work for you its a great hunting rest.

bsa30-06
06-28-2006, 07:55 PM
Boormans in new west, did my arrows and told me about putting a little dab of glue at the end of the vane.So far non have come loose or fallen off.

pupper
06-28-2006, 08:01 PM
I too have shot many arrows out of my biscuit with no problems at all.

what are some of the other problems people have with them?

Justin

sealevel
06-28-2006, 08:18 PM