PDA

View Full Version : Wrist slings??

Hunter4life
05-18-2006, 04:55 PM
I have been shooting and hunting with my bow for a couple years now and want to know how many of you use wrist slings? I have one on my setup but find that hunting with it is a pain. Do some of you just use it for target bows or do you use them all the time? How do you shoot without one?

hunter4life

Bow Walker
05-18-2006, 05:21 PM
I have used one from the time that I first learnt to shoot - about 7 years ago now. I hunt with it on, shoot 3D with it on and sleep with it on:icon_frow

Recently, my leather one wore out and I decided that I really didn't need one on after all. This past winter while practising at the range here in Vict. I was "surprised" by a shot going off unexpectedly. The bow jumped right out of my hand and fell into the muck and the water that I was standing in:eek: . The field was really wet and muddy from all the rain.

Yup, mud, crap, and ka-ka in the grooves of the cam and all over my sight, strings and cables, and on my cable guard. What a mess!:evil:

Now I don't leave home without one....:lol:

Nails
05-18-2006, 05:28 PM
Hunter4, I don't use a sling for the very reason you said it is pain while hunting. My grip (use compond bow)has not been effected when I removed it some 10 years ago. I don't really concern myself with 3D scores when you want min grip contact for the high scores. I'm happy with a solid 8 for 3D which translants into a doulble lung shot in the bowhunting world.

Fred
05-18-2006, 11:19 PM
I have and use one all the time too. If you knew what a clumsy clod I can be at times you would understand! :shock: One can always make a boo-boo at the best or worst of times and the wrist sling isn't bad insurance, is it BW? ;) Fred

huntwriter
05-19-2006, 05:03 AM