PDA

View Full Version : advice on arrows

endtimerwithabow
04-12-2006, 04:25 PM
I am new to bowhunting and last year was my first year. I have a pse II 60-70 lbs older but a nice bow shot 5-6 times before I got my hands on it my arrows are aluminum the heavest ones I can shoot with this bow they are easton 2315 lite XX75 camo hunter. I find they break and get bent ( I do need more practise) easily, are the carbon arrows harder to damage and do they come as heavy as the ones I'm currently using?

I havent harveted any large game yet but this year I want a early season Elk and a Whitetail. My son and I are shotn just about every day my grouping is about 7-8" and gettn smaller. I apprecite any and all adivce.

Thnx Doug

cowboy-up69
04-12-2006, 04:30 PM
Im new to bow hunting to, so Im curious to what other people say on here! I like my carbon arrows, but they break pretty easy when u hit rocks with them!! ;)

Kirby
04-12-2006, 04:33 PM
Carbons are much stronger than Aluminum. The only thing to watch is if you hit a rock, etc, Carbons can fracture, but not visibly show the damage. So you just Take it, bend it, and listen to it. I use to shoot Aluminums, and now shoot nothing but carbons(Gold tip 5575 Hunters) and love them.

Kirby

mtnmax
04-12-2006, 04:53 PM
I am new to bow hunting as well. This year will be my first hunt for deer with it. I have an older bow - Martin 2500 , Bangel. My draw is 26" with 63lbs. My arrows are Easton 2114 Superlite XX75 Camo Hunter. My grooping is about 6"-8" and getting better. Every bow guy who sees me shoot always tells me to get carbon arrows.
I would also like to know the difference and are the carbons going to make shoot better aside from skill.?

huntwriter
04-12-2006, 05:12 PM