PDA

View Full Version : Flyfishing line weights

dirtyharry
03-23-2006, 02:52 PM
I have a 9' #6 weight fly rod that I have been using for fishing lakes for trout for several years. I am going to try river fishing this year for the first time. Several people have told me to get #8 line as it will cast better. Is this okay on a #6 rod? I thought the rod was best with the line it was matched for.

I will be fishing out here in NL for AT Salmon (steelhead size) and trout in the rivers. But when we move to the Island this year I would like to try fishing the cowichan. Will this be enough rod or should I maybe think about a different weight. It is a really good trout rod G-Loomis and I don't want to break it.

Rob

03-23-2006, 04:55 PM
The fact that you have a nice loomis rod would be reason enough not to try it.:wink: It might work, but if it didn't you would certainly be the looser.
Lines are matched to rods for a combination that gives the best performance of the two. Mixing them up will probably work but not as good a a matched combo.
http://www.flycraftangling.com/ These guys are BC gurus, so they may have something on their site

Steeleco
03-23-2006, 05:53 PM
I recall it being accepted to go up or down one weight but two is a little heavy. Try getting a weight forward or some kind of shooting head line in 6 weight. I fished for pinks in the indian river with my 5 weight sage rod and it was a little taxed to say the least. You might be expecting a lot but it is a loomis so if it breaks you can alwasy get it replaced!!!

ruger#1
03-23-2006, 08:41 PM
if its a #6 rod then you could do a #7 or #5 , a #8 would be hard on the rod , i have a #3 st croix and i use a #4 line on it, that rod of yours should be good for sockey. ive caught rainbows up to 26 inches on my #3 weight and it was fun. i use it more then my #6.

kishman
03-23-2006, 10:32 PM