PDA

View Full Version : A different stupid question

sgt.maj
03-21-2006, 04:37 PM
I am also new to hunting and will be new to owning a hunting dog. I grew up with dogs, my first being a golden retriever so am familiar with actually having one as a pet. But I would like to find out what the best dog for my needs will be. First it needs to be a family dog. Second I would like to hunt bird. Third, I would like a dog that I can take deer and moose hunting. Is there a dog that will fit all those requirements? I gather a retriever will do the first couple, but can you train them to track and point? Any advice from you guys would be greatly appreciated. I would ideally like to get another Golden for sentimental reasons i quess but am open to anthing. Also is there any web sites that offer training advice?

Thanks

Fred
03-21-2006, 10:00 PM
Not that I am any sort of authority on dorgs but I think you might be wanting a GSP. Oh and welcome to Marc's place! ;) Fred

Islandeer
03-21-2006, 10:48 PM
Welcome to the site, try goggling Mike Lardy training tips, or goggle up national retreiver club.

sgt.maj
03-22-2006, 06:27 PM
The German Pointer looks interesting fred. Do you own one? If any one here owns one I would like to hear more about them. I would rather here from a current owner than info from web sites that are trying to sell them.

bsa30-06
03-22-2006, 06:30 PM
sgt.maj, try ruger#1 he has a couple i think he might have pics of them in his gallery.

ruger#1
03-23-2006, 09:46 PM