PDA

View Full Version : okanagan turkey

cblock
03-07-2010, 06:56 PM
well I have done some searching and read the one thread about kelowna area turkey hunting, however that was from 2005.

Im new to hunting and I am seeking a little advice or direction where to look for turkeys.
I have read they are elusive birds, however I am up for the challenge.
I have heard the rock creek area is a good spot to look, however a little help from some of you pros would be great full.

Thanks

huntwriter
03-07-2010, 07:41 PM
Lots of information on this website for a novice turkey hunter. There is also going to be a turkey hunting seminar in Keremeos on March 28. Here (http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=47527) you find more information about the event.

MikeH
03-07-2010, 08:08 PM
I'd love to attend to learn more about those birds really want to hunt them but Keremeos is a little far.:icon_frow

300H&H
03-07-2010, 08:37 PM
First...welcome to HBC
Second...we have a simple "rule". Your first post should be a "joke". So get on it.

Now to answer your question. Ive heard of some turkeys around here. More near Beaver/Dee Lake chain. Carefull there is privet land. You WILL find them there. So get good at callling and bring them to you. Good luck.

300H&H
03-07-2010, 08:42 PM
Go to Grouse River Outfitters and buy the DVD Primos Mastering The Art (turkey calling). I learned alot. And you get a free mouth call.

huntwriter
03-07-2010, 09:43 PM
A mouth call is the last thing a novice hunter should use. It can take many months to learn how to use them properly. In fact I know of hunters that use diaphragm calls for years and still scare more birds with it then they call in.