PDA

View Full Version : Alberta Pronghorn Hunter Host Adventure

Springer
10-23-2009, 08:07 AM
Alberta Pronghorn Hunter Host Adventure.

Well since there has not been a bunch of Antelope pics on here i thought i would share my adventure with ya'all.

The adventure began a little over a year ago when my good friend Greg Peet and i were sitting in his Boat on the Columbia River fishing for Rainbow's that were feeding on the surface. Greg moved back to Trail after living and working in Red Deer for years. Greg pops the question, Hey Phil, being a BC resident i need to apply for Antelope with an Alberta resident in order to boost my priority. Better than that Greg i will put you in with me and we will Hunt Antelope together if drawn!!
August rolls around this year and my WINRELM results says Trophy Antelope...SUCCESFUL !

I get on the phone and inform Greg he better get practiced running at 60 mph because we are going on a hunt for his first ever Pronghorn Antelope.
We agree to meet at camp Saturday Night after their long drive from Trail BC.
I headed out Saturday at noon just as excited as them.Along the drive i watched for Antelope and hopefully one of those Prairie Bulls i have heard about will show himself, when low and behold i encountered this nice 6 point Bull.
http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp189/Springer428/PrairieBull.jpg

After some pics and video footage i carried on to Hanna to get some fuel and look for Donny Bears camp there, but he was out scouting like an educated Antelope hunter should.

I arrived at camp parked in the shade of the big Cottonwoods waiting for Greg and His Father, Austin to arrive. Around 7:30 that evening the guy's arrive just before the storm hit. We sought refuge under the big trees but when they started blowing over we pulled out into the field . Hail damage can be repaired ,one of those humungus trees landing on us could end the trip right there.
http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp189/Springer428/afterthestorm.jpg