PDA

View Full Version : dumb question?

Black Bird
07-24-2009, 01:58 PM
Hi there,

I picked up the Regulations the other day and noticed that in Region 2 the grouse season is Sept.1-9 for bows and Sept 10 - Dec 15. I am new to hunting (last year was my first year) and while looking for deer north of Kamloops lake (Region 3) I came across many grouse but they were not my intended target. I am pretty sure that I could have thrown a heavy stick and at least got a few. However, the way I read the regulations is that the bow season is for bow only - not even a stick. Is that right? Secondly, would a slingshot count as a bow or would I have to wait until Sept 10th and on for a slingshot as well?

Again, sorry for the stupid question - my only defence is that I am still pretty new to this...

Cheers,
BB

moosinaround
07-24-2009, 02:03 PM
I think that as long as the object hurled at the target is not hurled with gunpowder you would be ok! So go ahead and toss a rock or stick or ball bearing, or beer can. Potato gun?? hmmmm...??? maybe not! Good luck!

BigfishCanada
07-24-2009, 02:09 PM
Grouse do not open in region 3 until Sept 10, bow season is for deer only.

Get a .22 or a 20 gauge, keep it with you when dear hunting and youll always have grouse for dinner.

TheDuckinator
08-02-2009, 10:11 AM
I think that as long as the object hurled at the target is not hurled with gunpowder you would be ok! So go ahead and toss a rock or stick or ball bearing, or beer can. Potato gun?? hmmmm...??? maybe not! Good luck!

Potato Gun!!!!!!! I know what my next project is! Even though all you need to get a grouse is a damn boot :p

Black Bird
08-11-2009, 05:28 PM