PDA

View Full Version : question?

mark
12-05-2005, 11:13 AM
this is for all the veteran bow hunters, im fairly new at bowhunting only got 1 deer so far, was the perfect broadside double lunger, down in 80 yards. the other day i come face to face with a nice big buck at 20 yards. His body is sheltered by brush but his head and neck is fully exposed. now i can hit a toonie every time at 20 yards. so my question is with a 70 lb. compound would my arrow break his spine if i sink it in the white spot under the chin? has anyone ever made a spine shot with a bow and had success or is this a bad idea. i didnt take the shot but some people say they would have. (not pro bowhunters that said that) id like to hear from people that have experienced it, not just random thoughts and guesses.

BlacktailStalker
12-05-2005, 12:12 PM
I wouldnt take the shot, yeah guys do it, but too much can go wrong. Not worth wondering if a deer lived or not to me. If I have to ask myself twice if I should, I dont and just feel lucky I saw him and hope for round two on him. Just my opinion though. Good luck, hope you find him again.

J_T
12-05-2005, 02:31 PM
This is a very low percentage shot and is not supported at any level with an ethical bowhunting community.

The speed of your bow is not important as you have posted it here. What is most important is shot placement. An ethical kill is what you are looking for.

If - believing that arrow speed is critically important - you are going to cite your bow speed you should also cite your broadhead type, arrow composition and weight. Many broadhead types will either break or bounce off bone when hit squarely. Other broadheads are designed to flow around boney material to penetrate deeper into the flesh.