PDA

View Full Version : releases

born2hunt
05-03-2009, 07:14 PM
Ive always shot my compound bow using finger tabs and i'm now thinking about going to a release, my question is have you ever had a release fail and prematurely release causing a dry fire or a half cocked fire ? just wondering what one would be reliable and which one to try ?

beardown
05-03-2009, 07:56 PM
i have been bow hunting for around 8 years i'm no expert but i have tried a few. my favorite release is the jim fletcher .44 caliper. it's priced around $60 bucks. i've probably shot 1000 arrows with that release and it's never failed. i used to shoot fingers and i'll never go back.

Andy83
05-03-2009, 08:06 PM
don't buy a cobra. I had one fail 2 years ago and i lost a nice broadhead into a tree.

Ambush
05-03-2009, 08:15 PM
I've had a few and never had one fail. I've been using a Tru-Ball Short'n-Sweet for the last two years and realy like it. It has a trigger forward design for a bit more draw length and single jaw for fast, easy hook ups.

Buy a quality release of the design you like and you'll be happy. I much prefer the nylon strap connection to the head rather than the metal rod. I also prefer a buckle wrist strap to the velcro. But again, just personal preference.

Bowzone_Mikey
05-03-2009, 08:48 PM
I have a Cobra Green Mamba, A Carter quick shot, a Carter Hunter, a Carter Target 3 and a Tru-Fire Judge ....

the Mamba single closed jaw Caliper and Judge is a 2 jaw Caliper design .. the Target 3 is a closed jaw hand held, the Hunter is an open jaw hand held and the quick shot is an open jawed wrist strap

none have never failed on me in a hunting situation ... I say that because I have fiddled with spring tension on all my releases ... Much like a good rifle has a custom trigger ..... so does a good archery set up

BlacktailStalker
05-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Had a tru ball "stick" and I missed a book blacktail at 35 yards by 10' when I "wiggled" it at full draw :cry: