PDA

View Full Version : anybody ever try this

Geronimo
01-17-2009, 11:40 PM
I'm new to Waterfowling--first season to be exact-- definitely found a new passion. Everyone I've talked to so far has advised me not to worry about the duck legs--too hard to get, the meat is too tough --all grissle,etc,etc; but being the guy I am, (I believe if you kill it you should at least attempt to use as much as possible.) I have been saving the legs in ziplock bags and today "dutchie", my son, took them out of the freezer and put them in a slow cooker with a little water,lots of garlic,ginger,a little soy sauce, some honey, onions and slow cooked them (6hrs)took them out put a little honey/garlic sauce on them and ---WOW-- chicken wings cannot come close to the delectable morsels these turned out as. Tender --they fell apart in my mouth-- might try "Buffalo Legs" next

kyleklassen
01-18-2009, 01:03 AM
awesome .

branthunter
01-18-2009, 01:14 AM
Dig out a good Italian cookbook and sub the duck legs for the veal shank in the Osso Bucco recipes. It's a fantastic dinner----you can do the same thing with any of the so-called tough cuts of game---especially good with deer/moose/elk shanks or finger meat. Or you can go Moroccan and use the duck legs in a tagine recipe.

Tanya
01-18-2009, 06:43 AM
Yup, that's what we do with the legs. Slow cook them in whatever flavors we feel inspired to use. Curry works well with goose legs too. Beware though of fishy pintail - oh what an awful mouthful that was!

Marc
01-18-2009, 09:49 AM
Another thing you can do as well is after you breast out the birds, boil up the bodies for a couple of hours, take them out to cool(keep broth) once cooled, pick the meat off and put it back in the pot. Add Potatoes, Carrots, Celery and any other vegetable you prefer.You can add dumplings if you like. I usually put some chicken broth in there as well and a good helping of summer savory. Makes a great Fricot.

MichelD
01-18-2009, 11:03 AM