PDA

View Full Version : Hi...

Theo
09-22-2005, 11:25 AM
Hi There My name is Steve I joined this site a while back and have just been lurking and reading everyone's posts.

I Started hunting 4 years ago and have to admit after my first time I was hooked, Like most of you I can't wait till the season opens and it always seems to short... Since I'm still new to the sport I have some questions.

I was just curious what everyone's feeling is about scent control, I've talked to several different people about it and everyone has different views and ideas.

Some don't even worry about it and just go hunting the way they are.

Some wash all there clothes several time with no detergent trying to omit any smell.

And of course some wash with special detergent, use the pit stick, Spray... Basically the whole nine yards.

I'm a rifle hunter and like to walk the cut lines or sit in a clearing, just trying to get some info on what I should do to help my odds or what everyone here does?

Thanks in advance

Steve

Kirby
09-22-2005, 11:35 AM
I personally don't subsrcribe to the theory of getting super controlish about smells. I do wash my clothes, and have used scent netralizer, but I don't think anything but the wind in the right direction will help.
Watch the wind, and hunt with it.

Kirby

todbartell
09-22-2005, 12:13 PM
I wash in a non-scent wash (hunting clothes) and I sometimes use pine scent blocker spray too.

welcome to the site :mrgreen:

Steeleco
09-22-2005, 12:21 PM
Same here, don't wash in scented soap and keep the wind in your face. And Welcome.

Theo
09-22-2005, 12:24 PM
Just thought I would ask... I bumped into a guy last year that had this little fan attached to his head. he said he managed to walk right up to a bedded down doe!!! Not that I want to walk around with a fan on my head, I just never gave scent much of a thought!

todbartell
09-22-2005, 02:18 PM
why the hell did he have a fan :neutral: :rolleyes:

MB_Boy
09-22-2005, 02:49 PM