PDA

View Full Version : decoy layouts

sparkes3
10-27-2008, 10:04 PM
can anyone tell me where i can look at a decoy layout for about 30 decoys i have tried various patterns sometimes it works sometimes it dont havent really hit on the right recipe yet any websites that show a proper layout.thanks in advance.

c.r.hunter
10-27-2008, 10:13 PM
for ducks or geese?

Dirty
10-27-2008, 10:15 PM
Good Question! I usually just wing it. If I have hunted a spot before I will have an idea of how the birds will come in depending on conditions ( clear, rainy/windy). I try to see up to give the birds an optimal spot to land where they will be in the best position for shooting. I am not an expert and so I look forward to hearing about ways to improve my spread. I also try not to put decoys too close to where I am hiding. Does this make a difference?

c.r.hunter
10-27-2008, 10:35 PM
Well, I'm not overly experienced on decoying geese but have brought it many ducks. My fool proof spread is basically a semi circle around the blind. Leave a nice open "hole" right in front of your blind. Set the decoys in a semi-circle with the outside of the spread being within shooting range. Generally the more the better, we generally use about 5-6 dozen deeks. The key is to make sure all the open water on the outside of the spread is within shooting range Most birds will try to land tight to your spread. Often times they will go for the big open "hole" right in front of you. HOWEVER, it is also critical to be well hidden. All my blinds are made from natural materials from the area-blade grass ect... It's also key to be wearing full camo, face mask ect.. and don't move when they are overhead. The other big key to our formula is to learn how to call...not just a hen call but feed call, confidence call, comeback call ect... Buy a video and spend some time learning to call.

mattchu_19
10-28-2008, 05:58 AM
take a handfull of pennies and throw them up in the air. Where ever they land put a decoy there.