PDA

View Full Version : hunting in the rain

brig
10-01-2008, 06:03 PM
Hey all, I was just wondering something, I'm fairly new to hunting, this is my second year and I haven't yet bagged anything. But what i was wondering is when hunting in the rain, are the deer going to act any different? Will they be more likely to hide and find cover, or will they still be out and about?

jrjonesy
10-01-2008, 06:08 PM
In my experience you are just as likely if not more likely to see deer when it is raining.

The one consideration is that rain washes away blood trails to some degree.

kenadiens
10-01-2008, 06:37 PM
Fairly new to hunting but have been told that deer tend to be out and about more in the rain.

Offroad
10-01-2008, 06:49 PM
I've had great luck hunting in the rain. I tend to see a lot more deer. It seems that they tend to be out in the open a bit more especially if it is a bit windy as well. I think they move out into the open, or the edges of openings,more because the wind rain impair their sense of smell and their hearing. They seem to depend on their vision more. Hunting the edges of clearcuts about 20 yrds in the bush and periodically moving out to the edge and glassing the cut block has been good to me. But thats just been my experience. The best thing about hunting in the rain is the lack of other people out hunting. Good luck out there.

Chuck
10-01-2008, 07:21 PM
I agree with the others. Although it's a bit miserable and not really that much "fun", hunting in the rain and a bit of wind will better your odds. Deer, or so I've experienced, don't seem to care that much. Also I feel that during the "dark" of the moon also seems to help.

Ron.C
10-01-2008, 07:31 PM
I love hunting in the rain,