PDA

View Full Version : First timer heading to 3-30 - Looking for advise

cndnmike
09-27-2008, 03:31 PM
Hi folks

This is my first year hunting, and I'm heading into area 3-30 with a LEH Doe draw first week of November.

I'm heading in with a few guys that of hunted lots in the past (they have a couple LEH moose for the same area).

Just wondering if it's worth me grabbing a White Tail tag as well - and curious if anyone wants to share some tips for a new guy?

- any spots I should concentrate on?
- any spots I should avoid?
- how have the game sightings been this year?

We will likely be around the Eagan Lake - Bonaparte Lake areas, but are not to familiar with the general area overall - hope to make my first trip a successfull trip (and hope to put something in the freezer as well :smile: ).

Thanks in advance

CndnMike

hillclimber
09-27-2008, 03:53 PM
damnit mike you got my doe draw lol. as for whitey's haven't seen any there before but i hear they're already in 5-1 which is just north of eagan lake on the windy mtn forestry road. I know of 2 mulie bucks that were taken there during the youth season so far one 4 point and a spiker (one by bondaparte lake and one right by eagan)

BTW i may even see you there first week of november

HighCountry
09-27-2008, 08:09 PM
hunt around 70 miles house you have a good chance for white-tail in there.Last week a budy of my got a nice one in there.

oddsix
09-27-2008, 08:17 PM
Got a 2 pointer earlier this month up at eagan lake. tons of deer and we saw 2 BIG bull moose up there too. but in the last 5 years i have not seen a whitey there.

cndnmike
09-27-2008, 08:40 PM
damnit mike you got my doe draw lol.

Well Menno if you happened to get an Elk draw for 2-5 I would gladly trade you LOL.

Thanks for the input though - As for seeing me up there I'll be hard to miss - just look for the Sasquatch like guy fumbling through the bush with a rifle.

Steeleco
09-27-2008, 08:45 PM