PDA

View Full Version : Big Moose Tips

Kechika
09-18-2008, 05:35 PM
I leave in a few days for 2 weeks or Stone Sheep and Moose hunting.i was wondering if there are any techniques for calling that get the big bulls worked up.Never hunted moose in the rut so it should be interesting.Thanks

Wildman
09-18-2008, 06:03 PM
Just bend over..

moosecaller
09-18-2008, 06:07 PM
Watch the videos, learn how to call, no tips can really replace doing it and learning what works. If you are not confident in calling use the raking on the bush as much as you can you will hear if it gets them going. A poor call will scare them away as quick as anyhting.

.308win
09-18-2008, 06:10 PM
If the rut is started, just try calling.....I'm no expert, but have called in quite a few Moose. My experience as been, if the rut is on, and your call sounds remotley like a Cow Moose or Bull grunting....They will come in for it!!.....Just sit back and enjoy the show! Best of luck on your trip!!

Perry

springpin
09-18-2008, 06:13 PM
Pour water in a water body to mimic a moose urinating. But don't do this to often, or it's like over calling...

Chad

M.Dean
09-18-2008, 06:21 PM
I use a plastic margarine container with the shoe lace trick, works great, my moose call sucks so i tried that and be damed it works! Practice some short grunts until you get it right and you should be chewing on moose this winter! Good luck!

newhunterette
09-18-2008, 06:23 PM
I use a plastic margarine container with the shoe lace trick, works great, my moose call sucks so i tried that and be damed it works! Practice some short grunts until you get it right and you should be chewing on moose this winter! Good luck!

ya beat me too it - we use the same thing - always have one rigged up at the cabin to practise with

works well for sure

Best of luck, Mike and straight shootin:D

moosinaround
09-18-2008, 06:25 PM
Ode du cow in heat! No. 7 Its expensive, comes from France! Might as well use imported pee! Moosin

Avalanche123