PDA

View Full Version : Grouse, where to go?

Woodpile
09-18-2008, 08:32 AM
This is my first year hunting and I would like to go and get some grouse. I just dont want to travel too too far. I've been reading that region 2 is a longshot for them. What is the best area to hunt grouse in relation to Vancouver? Thank you.

Leaseman
09-18-2008, 08:40 AM
Past the toll booth on the Coq..... lots of side roads and a fair supply of chickens.....;)

Wild one
09-18-2008, 08:47 AM
Seen lots around Lytton and a good mix of bunnies and grouse out towards princeton.

Mr. Dean
09-18-2008, 08:55 AM
Past the toll booth on the Coq..... lots of side roads and a fair supply of chickens.....;)

x2

The predation around our town is astronomical. You need to get away from the massive yote population.

......IMHO

Huey
09-18-2008, 09:06 AM
I had success on the west side of Harrison last weekend. Could have limited out if I wern't so dumb......

rishu_pepper
09-18-2008, 10:38 AM
West Harrison even? Surprised I must say. Perhaps I should take my Camry up there :lol:

Sasquatch
09-18-2008, 10:54 AM
I've done pretty good up behind Squamish, although I haven't been out this year yet.

branthunter
09-18-2008, 11:33 AM
Any suggestions for blue grouse. The guy that posted about Ashnola sheep said he'd seen a fair number up on Crater Mt.---anyone been out and about this year and seen good blue grouse populations in any other areas? I underst6and they can be very cyclical. I've been hunting all my life but getting a blue has eluded me so far and that's something I'd dearly love to remedy.

Leaseman
09-18-2008, 11:45 AM
Seen a dozen blues last outing...all above the 500ft mark.....

Huey
09-18-2008, 12:29 PM
[quote=rishu_pepper;330405]West Harrison even? Surprised I must say. Perhaps I should take my Camry up there
Yes the camry would fit right in up there... never going back there on a weekend...

BIGHUNTERFISH
09-18-2008, 02:40 PM