PDA

View Full Version : Deer pepperoni

In4TheHunt
09-09-2008, 09:05 PM
This is my first post...

I was wondering if anyone out there processes their own meet?

What I'm looking for is a recipe for deer pepperoni.

Please advise

mark
09-09-2008, 09:09 PM
I butcher my own deer, but take meat to a sausage maker to get done!

newhunterette
09-09-2008, 11:15 PM
we cut up our own game meats and sometimes make our own sausages and pepperoni etc depending on time - we also take it in to be made as well

132mile
09-10-2008, 01:05 AM
I have been doing it for about 3 years. I would suggest looking at www.stuffers.com (http://www.stuffers.com). Just give them a call and they have great pre-mixes that do 10lb batches. Good Luck.

In4TheHunt
09-10-2008, 10:11 AM
Thank you all for your replies.

That at least gives me an idea of how to go about it the next time I bag something.

The last one I got I processed it myself and got about 80 lbs of sausage, but I would have liked some more variety.

Thanks again

newhunterette
09-13-2008, 11:45 AM
homemade pepperoni
7 lbs venison cubed
3 lbs pork cubed
5 tblsp salt
1 tblsp sugar
2 tblsp cayenne pepper
3 tblsp sweet paprika
1 tblsp crushed anise seed
1 tsp garlic, very finely minced
1 cup dry red wine
1/2 tsp ascorbic acid
1 tsp saltpeter
6 feet small (1/2-inch diameter) hog casings

or you can purchase seasonings premixed at Stuffers in Langley as well as the casings.

Sausage Mix:
Grind the venison and pork through the coarse disk separately. Mix the meats together with the salt, sugar, cayenne, pepper, paprika, anise seed, garlic, red wine, ascorbic acid, and saltpeter. Spread the mixture out in a large pan, cover loosely with waxed paper, and cure in the refrigerator for twenty-four hours.