PDA

View Full Version : i am a hunting noob need help with all

headhunter257
07-23-2008, 10:58 PM
I am completely new to the sport and got a high love for the rifle’s that sniper use but I know a sniper rifle is only a sniper rifle in trained hands so my uncle told me to get a tikka t3 lite rifle with a Leopold scope for long range I was looking at a R700 and the same scope I do plan on hunting but I would love to do that far shooting I was thinking of a 308 or a 30-06 and a 270 win but not sure I know a 30-06 is a great round that I keep hearing that its great for all around price not so much but I can always get a job what I am trying to say is what rifle would be a good one for me being only 15 should I go with wood or plastic >? And what type of scope do u guys think I should get and what calibre. I am a noob to the sport hunting but my last name is hunter :? so what gear u guy think a noob like me should go out with :oops:

Fixit
07-23-2008, 11:39 PM
i think that everyone should start with a 22lr, ammo is dirt cheep (500/20 bucks) and that way you can learn to shoot without breaking the bank.
then after a while you'l have a better idea what you want (do lots of reading, and ask lots of questions)

Dragginbait
07-24-2008, 07:50 AM
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_1_201.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZNxpt425YYCA) You won't go wrong with any of those calibers, but I'd go with the 06, if you planned on hunting any of the bigger critters in BC. The 270 will work fine, but some say it's a little lite for bigger game and you don't have as great a bullet selection as with the 30 cals.

BiG Boar
07-24-2008, 07:55 AM