PDA

View Full Version : Blazers and Montecs??

Stone Sheep Steve
05-30-2008, 07:51 AM
Anyone shooting 2" blazers and Montecs??

I just switched over to 2" Blazer Vanes but I also recently switched to Montecs.

Anyone had any tuning issues with this combo??
I went with a straight fletching set up and and shooting a Whisker Biscuit.
Target points are shooting well and flying true. I realize I have to find out how the Montecs are flying myself but was wondering if anyone had any difficulites with Montecs and shorter vanes.

I need to pick up a practice Montec head and get a broadhead target:?.

SSS

Bow Walker
05-30-2008, 08:27 AM
I've been using 2" Blazers on my shafts for about 5 years now - ever since I started fletching my own. My broadhead of choice is the Razorcap 100 grain. Never had a problem with flight characteristics that couldn't be tuned out with just a little bit of effort. In fact, I've tested them out to 50 yards and found them to be great.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/RAZOR_CAP_100.jpg

There is a broadhead pit at Victoria Bowmen Club, where I used to do my testing. You can safely shoot up to 50 yds there. I strung a plastic pop bottle from the header of the roof over the pit. Got it first try and every try after that.

Good combo - Blazer's and Montecs.

Gilmore
05-30-2008, 08:28 AM
I'm also interested in this one as I just did the exact same thing, except mine have a right offset.

Chad

Bow Walker
05-30-2008, 08:35 AM
I used to try to fletch mine with a helical, but the darn things are too short to be curved. Now I use an offset and it seems to work just fine.

I do put them as much to the rear of the shaft as I can. As long as they clear the string at full draw, they're good to go. Putting them as far back like that (about 2" from the nock) seems to help stabilize the arrow better than having them further up the shaft.

pupper
05-30-2008, 08:51 AM