PDA

View Full Version : New and need info?

MDG3
12-18-2007, 12:43 PM
Hi to all,

I'm 45 and was asked by my brother to be his hunting partner (he lost his and not been out in a few years).

Anyways, I'm going for my PAL/hunter# soon and thought if this is a good time to get it? I alway wanted to, but was apprehensive.

I go camping and fishing (with the family on occasion), so is this the next step? (I know, that is a somewhat of a loaded question.:wink:)

Also, last year I almost bought a pellet rifle for practice and for camping and to keep the kids busy, hopefully to teach them about hunting someday.(in the future not now as I'm a newb). Is this a good idea?

Sorry for the long post. Thanks in advance for ANY replies.

jrjonesy
12-18-2007, 01:03 PM
Any time is a great time to do it and you will never regret having taken your PAL and CORE courses. There's a lot of very important basics that are even more significant if you plan on passing on what you learn to your kids. I think pellet guns are a great idea for kids as long as they handle them like a real gun. Great way to learn and peak their interest.

Hunting is a great common ground to have with your family and provides reasons to spend time together. I'm 38 and look forward all year to 1 or 2 weeks of hunting with my Dad and older brother. Makin' memories.

If one or both of your kids are older than 12, get them to take the CORE course with you too.

Big7
12-18-2007, 01:09 PM
I don't think that there's any better way to spend time with friends and family than hunting or fishing. It's very rewarding and will provide you with many fond memories especially having your brother for a hunting partner!