PDA

View Full Version : high powered long range bolt action

McRackin
11-29-2007, 11:26 PM
I'm pretty new with firearms in general I just took the NonRestricted and Restricted safety courses and I've been looking around for my first rifle that I want to buy for when I get my license in a couple months. I'm just wondering if anyone here could help me out and recommond some strong power bolt action rifles that have good long range accuracy.

Derek_Erickson
11-29-2007, 11:38 PM
Get a .22 first, then start wasting money

brotherjack
11-29-2007, 11:43 PM
Ditto on the 22LR comment. Get one, and about 2,000 rounds of ammo, and shoot all of it. Rinse, lather, repeat on a weekly basis for a couple of months. :)

For a "first big rifle", it's hard to beat a Savage. They ain't pretty, but by and large they are the most accurate "off-the-shelf" rifle available at any price. They're also pretty affordable.

Caliber - I would recommend one of the "standard" (308, 30-06, 270, or maybe if you insist on a magnum, a 7mag). Any of the above will work just fine for anything you plan to shoot with it.

308 Winchester is my personal favourite - I like the short stubby cases, I like short action rifles, and I am a cheapskate and 308 Winchester ammo is the cheapest 'big gun' caliber there is. Appropriately loaded, a 308 Winchester is capable of smacking deer size stuff at ranges well beyond what you should ever consider shooting at one, and moose/elk size stuff out to 300-ish yards (which is probably also still beyond what you should consider shooting at a critter - unless you've got a really good rest and a lot of practice under your belt). But that's just my reasoning for my favorite caliber - any of the aforementioned calibers would be a great choice.

RMG
11-30-2007, 02:48 AM
What brotherjack said, I repeat, with the exception of the 30-06 never ever will one of them be in my cabinet, if one does, I am sure the others there will mutiny or worst start a revolution.

Scobo