PDA

View Full Version : Dog food for active lion hounds??

Sniper
03-10-2005, 05:06 PM
Anybody have any thoughts or recommedations for a good quality dog food? I'm feeding Nutro Natural Choice chicken and rice right now dogs seem to like it but it is a tad expensive. I found a good discussion on this here http://www.exit201.com/shadetree/showthread.php?t=626 the most popular down south being Diamond brand but I have never seen this brand here. Ken

fester
03-10-2005, 06:22 PM
if you look at the bag some are very high percentage of protein
you gotta try to stay away with dog foods that have a lot of preotein in them because they can build up and get stones and can't pee then there bladder could explode

SteadyGirl
03-10-2005, 09:16 PM
I have been feeding my dog Go Natural for three years+ now and she doesn't look or act like shes aged a day. Has good energy and keeps up with other larger dogs all day. You have to call around to find a shop that carries it. All natural, steaks fruit and veggies, no preservitaves or bs filler. Cost is about $65 a bag works out to 2bucks a pound I think. I highly reccomend it and won't ever go back. Nutro is high end too, and what I used to feed mine but I noticed a huge difference as soon as I put her go natural.

Steady

black 'n blue
03-10-2005, 09:36 PM
I feed OL Roy from Wallymart and they do just fine. The hounds have good coats and lots of GO.

leftcoast
03-10-2005, 09:56 PM
I feed the BARF diet. Biologically Acceptable Raw Food.

You go put a cob of corn, a cup of wheat, some soy beans, and a pound of raw hamburger in a field about 1 foot from each other and watch which one the coyote or wolf or dog will go to.

=keith=

Barracuda
03-10-2005, 11:01 PM
I am with Black and Blue on this one . Ol roy maximum pro diet is what my hounds get. and they do well on it . I have tried various brands but the two hounds seem to work the best with it