PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Gopher hunting...

atomlowe
12-16-2003, 10:44 PM
Hey there everyone. I'm new to this whole idea and I've been speaking to a few people. I was wondering if everyone could offer up some locations within BC to do this. I'm thinking in and around the 6 hour mark from Vancouver. I'd had the suggestion of heading out towards Hedley.

Also, I'm looking at picking up a Winchester 9422 used if I can find one but a 22LR for sure. What do you use for this activity?

Adam

Marc.....site looks great BTW!!!

Marc
12-16-2003, 10:56 PM
Marc.....site looks great BTW!!!

Thanks Adam but I can’t take all the credit. Spink has put a lot of time and effort into putting this site together for me. It's too easy to forget the people on the sidelines and I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank him again. Job well done Spink! :wink:

bone-collector
12-17-2003, 12:04 AM
Hey there everyone. I'm new to this whole idea and I've been speaking to a few people. I was wondering if everyone could offer up some locations within BC to do this. I'm thinking in and around the 6 hour mark from Vancouver. I'd had the suggestion of heading out towards Hedley.

Also, I'm looking at picking up a Winchester 9422 used if I can find one but a 22LR for sure. What do you use for this activity?

not sure of any place within BC thats worth the travel , may be a few spots down south like you mentioned with a few dogs, alberta badlands is a great place to go I hear, my uncle does the trip every spring and wastes off 1000 rounds

as for prairie dog medication, I am building up a 223 (may take a while but I will get it done. I chose this caliber as its NOT a barrel burner and I wont be replacing a barrel a season like in a 22-250 with handloads , but I did want to keep that EXPLOSIVE reaction of a hi-speed heavier bullet than say a 22 hornet or a 222

I will try and get a few locations out of some guys here that head east every spring see if a trip is worth it or not :wink: