PDA

View Full Version : Peep Sight Or Kisser Button

mikek blacktail
04-18-2007, 02:44 PM
I've been shooting my bow with a kisser button for years,and I was just wondering if peep sights are more accurate.Any info would be much appreciated.

ribber
04-18-2007, 04:28 PM
Hi Guy, I'm kind of glad you ask this question, I'm very new to archery and the buddy thay's helping me[?],insists I use both, a peep and a kisser button, and I couldn'd figure out why may now I'll find out

mikek blacktail
04-18-2007, 04:43 PM
I believe some people use both so the kisser always stays in the same spot as an anchor point but I 'm not sure,I was told you don't need both but I think it's a personal preference.

BowSitter
04-18-2007, 04:46 PM
don't worry BowWalker will jump in and let you know:twisted: :lol:

Bow Walker
04-18-2007, 04:48 PM
:idea: That's what I was going to suggest. Use both.

The kisser will do it's job - which is to give you a consistently repeatable anchoring point. Repeatability is the key.

A solid, repeatable anchor point is imperative. Many shooters use a knuckle of the release hand on the jaw bone to get a solid anchor. Others use fingers at the corner of the mouth or on the chin. Still others use a kisser button - right in the corner of the mouth. Easily repeatable.

The usual idea with a peep is to get your sight housing (which is most often round) just within the peep aperture. Then you can put the selected pin right on the X within the target.

i know bowsitter is just waiting for me to post on this thread.....:evil:

interceptor
04-18-2007, 04:53 PM
G' Day Lads,

The main thing that a kisser button does is it gives you a reference point ie: it touches the same spot on your face every time if it doesn't you know that your form is off.

You can never have too many reference points, while I don't use a kisser I do have a few referece points:
1, where my release aid touches my face
2, the thumb on my right hand locks under the point of my jaw